I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 96-31 (LS)

Introduced by:

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr. Sam Mabini, Ph.D.

T. C. Ada

V. Anthony Ada

F. F. Blas, Jr.

B. J.F. Cruz

Chris M. Dueñas

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

T. R. Muña Barnes

v.c. pangelinan

R. J. Respicio

M. Silva Taijeron

Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing and congratulating the United Samar Association of Guam on the occasion of its Twenty-First (21st) Anniversary; and to further commending it for generous and invaluable contributions to the island of Guam, and its people.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTAL UNU NA LIHESLATURAN

- 2 *GUÅHAN*:
- 3 WHEREAS, the United Samar Association of Guam was established in April
- 4 of 1990; and its founders are Mr. Albert Baldoza, Mr. Hilbert Hill and Mr. Enrique
- 5 "Ike" Banigoos; and

1 WHEREAS, the United Samar Association of Guam's mission is to foster a stronger, and more active fellowship, and camaraderie among its members; to 2 3 cultivate, develop, encourage, provide support, and promote the economic, educational and social interests, and well-being of its members; and to do everything 4 5 necessary and proper for the accomplishment of any of the objectives set forth in the 6 statement of principles adopted by the members of the Association; and 7 WHEREAS, the United Samar Association of Guam currently has thirty-nine 8 (39) active members; and 9 WHEREAS, I Liheslaturan Guåhan recognizes the outgoing officers of the Association for their hard work and dedication to the organization and to the 10 11 community; and WHEREAS, these outgoing officers who have so graciously served are: 12 Elpedio "Joe" Casin, President; Ike Banigoos, Vice President; Leonardo "Abay" 13 Aballe Jr., Vice President; Peter Casin, Assistant Secretary; Veronica Valencia, 14 15 Rachel B. Lagrimas, Assistant Treasurer; Leticia Roperos, Auditor; Jack Asildo, Press 16 Relation Officer; Talimar Espina, Sergeant at Arms; Herminigildo Semela, Sergeant at 17 Arms; Jarve M. Lanojan, Sergeant at Arms; and Narda Torres, Lorette Casin, Delia Strutz, Rose Banigoos, and Ted Allan Ala, members of the Board of Directors; and 18 19 WHEREAS, since 2009, the Association has made various donations and has 20 completed numerous community service projects to improve the quality of life on 21 Guam and abroad, such as donating trash containers to the village of *Barrigada*; 22 making a monetary donation to the victims of Typhoon *Ondoy* in the Philippines; funding a medical mission for United Samar Association of Guam member, Gloria 23 24 Aguino; funding a surgical mission in Samar, Philippines; and providing other

monetary donations to help members of the Association in their times of need; and

25

1 WHEREAS, the United Samar Association of Guam has future plans to 2 continue to make more donations, and to perform island beautification projects that 3 benefit the people of Guam, and those of neighboring communities; now, therefore, be 4 it 5 **RESOLVED,** that I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize and congratulate the United Samar 6 Association of Guam on the occasion of its Twenty-First (21st) Anniversary; and does 7 further extend a sincere thank-you and Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'us Ma'ase to the 8 9 Association for its generous and invaluable contributions to the island of Guam, and its people; and be it further 10 11 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. 12 Elpedio "Joe" Casin, President of the United Samar Organization of Guam; and to the 13 Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan. 14

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÂHAN ON THE 2ND DAY OF MAY 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker TINÀ ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary